System Execute to Move Files?

Support/help with CloverETL (4.9) and CloverDX (5.0 or newer) implementation problems

pintail
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:58 pm

System Execute to Move Files?

Postby pintail » Tue Jul 28, 2015 1:18 am

Hi - does anyone have a graph example that shows a using a system execute component to move a file once it's been processed through the graph (last step in the graph)? I'm waiting on the server license key for the job flow components, but in the meantime would like to try this out. If anyone has an example it would be much appreciated. thanks!

slechtaj
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:18 am

Re: System Execute to Move Files?

Postby slechtaj » Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:37 pm

Hi Pintail,

You can of course use SystemExecute to copy a file to another location. You should, however, keep in mind the Clover is not "in charge" of copying the data - it just invoke a system command (in your case cp, pscp etc.). An example of why you should rather use File Operations components (e.g. CopyFile or MoveFiles) is described in this thread.
Regarding the SystemExecute configuration you can refer to the documentation. The most important (basic) attributes you need to set here is "System command" and "Working directory".

Hope it helps.
Jan Slechta
CloverCARE Support
CloverETL | Rapid Data Integration

Visit us online at http://www.cloveretl.com

How to speed up communication with CloverCARE support

Raj
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:26 pm

Re: System Execute to Move Files?

Postby Raj » Fri Sep 09, 2016 12:57 pm

I have the same requirement to do. Can you please help me how to decrypt a file in clover ETL?
I have a csv file and encrypted it as .PGP file. Now I want to decrypt this file and want to get the original csv file.
Can you please help me out in this.

Thanks in advance.

vazquezrosariop
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:33 pm

Re: System Execute to Move Files?

Postby vazquezrosariop » Tue Sep 13, 2016 2:57 pm

Hi Raj,

You can accomplish this by using our SystemExecute component, simply add your command based on the decryption software you are using to decrypt your file in the "System Command" property. You will also want to specify the location of where you want to store your file in the "Output file URL" property.
---
Pedro X. Vazquez Rosario
CloverCARE Support
CloverDX

Visit us online at http://www.cloverdx.com

Raj
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:26 pm

Re: System Execute to Move Files?

Postby Raj » Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:45 am

Thanks for the reply.
I could not follow the solution can you please share me a simple example on this!

-Raj

vazquezrosariop
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:33 pm

Re: System Execute to Move Files?

Postby vazquezrosariop » Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:30 pm

Hi Raj,

A simple example won't be possible, since the command script depends on the decryption software you are using. However I have taken the liberty of attaching a screenshot of where you have to add the script.

systemExecute.PNG
systemExecute.PNG (34.2 KiB) Viewed 4266 times
---
Pedro X. Vazquez Rosario
CloverCARE Support
CloverDX

Visit us online at http://www.cloverdx.com


cron